Chapter Picture.jpg


Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. was founded on January 15, 1908 at Howard University in Washington, D.C.  Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. is an international sorority, which includes a diversity of college educated women.

In 1978 an interest group was formed with Natalie Hart Merritt serving as the interest group president.  Nu Zeta Omega chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Incorporated was chartered on April 19, 1980.  The ceremony was held at the Holiday Inn in Waldorf, Maryland.  Officiators for the ceremony were Mrs. Nellie Gaylord, the North Atlantic Regional Director and assistant Mrs. Aletha Elps, Graduate Advisor from the University of Maryland Eastern Shore.  Mrs. Eva Chesley was elected as the first president of the newly chartered chapter.  There were twenty –three chartered members.

Nu Zeta Omega Charter Members


Annie Barbour † , Elvira Barnes †, Eloise Broadneaux †, Annie Blount, Mary Burroughs †, Nellie G. Carter †, Eva S. Chesley, L. Theodora Estep, Mildred U. Green, Annie S. Garrett †, Beverly Hart, Natalie M. Hart, Sarah T. Kane †, Lannie Morehead, Mary J. Short, Josephine Spinks †, Agatha S. Swann, Ann E. Thompson †, Mary C. Wade † Catherine D. Webb, Lessie M. Wilson, Carmella Davis Watkins

† Deceased                    

Since the beginning, the program goals of the national organization of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. have been deeply engrained in the heart and soul of  the Nu Zeta Omega Chapter.  Ever mindful of the high standards set at the National level, this Chapter has gained prominence and recognition throughout Southern Maryland and the North Atlantic Region.

In 2007 and 2003, Nu Zeta Omega Chapter was awarded “The Community Excellence Award” by the Achievement Initiative for Maryland’s Minority  Students, Maryland State Department of Education.  The Chapter has been recognized at least seven times during Regional Conventions as the “Outstanding   Small Chapter” in the North Atlantic Region.  A number of individual members have been recognized and received awards for outstanding service and accomplishments at the local, regional and national levels.

Nu Zeta Omega Chapter of Alpha Kappa Alpha Sorority, Inc. has built and maintains an outstanding reputation.  The Chapter continues to strive to be an educational, economic, cultural, and social asset to the citizens and communities of Southern Maryland.

    Former Presidents

Eva Chesley, 1980-1985

J. Cecelia Spinks, 1986-1989

Mary L. Wade, 1990-1993

Carmella Davis Watkins, 1994-1997

Amelia Turner, 1998-2001

Miriam Y. Matthews, 2002-2005 ; 2010-2013

Denise Barnes, 2006-2009; 2018 - present

Natalie Hart, 2014-2017





Nu Zeta Omega Officers & Chairmen 2018-2019

President - Denise Barnes, (president@aka-nzomega.org)

1st Vice President - Phyllis Sanders, (firstvicepresident@aka-nzomega.org)

2nd Vice President - Andrea Henderson, (secondvicepresident@aka-nzomega.org, membership@aka-nzomega.org)

Recording Secretary - Sydney Powell, (recordingsecretary@aka-nzomega.org)

Assistant Secretary - Delores Walls

Financial Secretary - Brenda Chase, (financialsecretary@aka-nzomega.org)

Assistant Financial Secretary - Deborah Taylor

Corresponding Secretary - Jacqueline Gray, (correspondence@aka-nzomega.org)

Treasurer - Zsa Zsa Brown, (treasurer@aka-nzomega.org)

Hostess - Agnes Lilly, (hostess@aka-nzomega.org)

Sergeant At Arms - Yvette Countryman, (sargeant-at-arms@aka-nzomega.org)

Historian - Rochelle Savoy (historian@aka-nzomega.org)

Ivy Leaf Reporter - Lola Scott, (ivyleafreporter@aka-nzomega.org)

Parliamentarian - Amelia Turner, (parliamentarian@aka-nzomega.org)

Chaplain - Carmella Watkins, (chaplain@aka-nzomega.org)

Member-At-Large - Francine Dove-Hawkins

Connections - Amelia Turner, (connections@aka-nzomega.org)

Technology - Sydney Powell, Benita Young, (technology@aka-nzomega.org) 

Scholarship - Wulanda Thenstead, (scholarship@aka-nzomega.org)